Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Breathing Attacks! Differential Diagnosis and Speech Treatment of Vocal Cord Dysfunction

October 28 @ 9:00 am - 11:00 am

Event Navigation

There are two ways to participate in this live event, as either part of the live studio audience in Gulf Breeze, Florida or via live stream around the world. Live stream participants will receive instructions in the confirmation e-mail on how to access the event from their computer and interact with the instructor. Studio audience seats are limited – so register now! Please contact our office if you have any questions. 850-916-8886.

Course time: 9:00 AM Central (10:00 AM Eastern; 7:00 AM Pacific)
OR
Course time: Noon Central (1:00 PM Eastern; 10:00 AM Pacific)

Vocal Cord Dysfunction (VCD) is an inappropriate closure of the vocal cords during respiration, creating an airway obstruction that most significantly affects athletes during activity. VCD is often misdiagnosed as asthma, often leading to ineffective treatment. The speech pathologist plays a vital role working within a multidisciplinary team to effectively teach and communicate a treatment plan ensuring optimal care and outcomes for these patients. This introductory level course will discuss techniques for identifying and diagnosing VCD, provide a step-by-step treatment approach, and address making referrals as necessary.

 

Details

Date:
October 28
Time:
9:00 am - 11:00 am
Event Category:
Website:
https://www.ciaoseminars.com/courseDetail.cfm?oid=5928&ctid=2&evd=1

Venue

Livestream

Organizer

CIAO Seminars